Blog.Post has been installed!
BLOG

OH SHIT! I MIGHT ACTUALLY GET A STORY OUT!

WRITTEN SEPTEMBER 21TH, 2024

Tags: art talk, story development

Something embarrassing about me: for someone who loves to talk about characters and stories and describes themself as a storyteller, I sure don't have a single damn story finished and published out there!!

There's multiple reasons for this happening over the years: got too wrapped up in worldbuilding, got too wrapped up in pre-production stuff, no plot ideas, no character ideas, too busy with life stuff, you name it. Even now, I feel like I'm too mentally exhausted by current life circumstances to really think about large scale projects or much of anything honestly. It's all stuff that's no stranger to the average writer/artist, it happens all the time, but I can't help but feel really bad that I just. Don't have any actual comic projects to show besides this one Nuzlocke run that I cancelled years ago and started even further back. This cancelled comic has been absorbed into a project of mine called Patronverse, which is currently sitting in the ether because it's too big of a project for my poor exhausted brain right now

Well, it looks like I won't have to grapple with these feelings of failure for much longer hopefully, because holy shit I recently got a spark for a short project tailored to my current needs!

It's called Wanderers, and it's loosely based off a Clangen run that I did with the purpose of turning it into a story. I've designed it to be a short comic (less than 30 updates long) and it's about butterfly cats that migrate south to escape the winter, just like real monarch butterflies. I know the beginning, middle and how it ends, I have an outline, and I feel like I got a good grasp of who the characters are. It's so exciting!! I'm just about ready to start scripting and sketching the updates out! I might actually have a finished story under my belt soon!

Oh shit it's september 21th that's my favorite earth wind and fire songggg