Blog.Post has been installed!
BLOG

I EMPTIED OUT MY ART SOCIAL MEDIA

WRITTEN FEBRUARY 23RD, 2024

Tags: social media talk

So today, amidst news of Tumblr's CEO being an unhinged transmisogynist (who wrongfully terminated a trans woman's blog then went to harrass her further on Twitter) and BOTH Twitter and Tumblr being in talks with Midjourney for partnerships (most likely scraping for images to feed their genAI model) at the same god damn time, I said fuck it and emptied out my Twitter, art Tumblr and Instagram for once and for all. I'd been planning on doing it anyway, so I really just antecipated the inevitable. Things seem so bad on Tumblr that one ex-staff member feels like it might actually go down in the near future.

It's a bit of an odd feeling though, finally closing those doors. My personal website and my Youtube (which is really just for my animation work) are the only ones still actively standing as my fortresses where you can find my work.

Thankfully I also made the decision to switch to a different industry months ago, so I don't feel the need to stay glued to some social media website for the sake of my career.

I'm lucky that I found Neocities and the personal web initiative when I did. God.